Obeying my Spirit

Obey Your Spirit

Inspired by a post by Rice Freeman Zachary about letting our art journals be JUST that … OUR art journals and letting others have their way.  There is no wrong, no right, no better, no best.  What it is about is making our mark … whether that be writing words, painting, sketching, doodling, collaging.

I realized that I had allowed myself to become totally distracted with the art of others … in some ways, becoming my own journal nazi.  The source of inspiration was impeding my own creation.  I didn’t think I was comparing … but I was because either I wouldn’t journal or create because it might not be good enough OR I would try to replicate what another person had done.  The intuitive way that I approached my art had been lost.

Is there something to learn from others? Absolutely.  But there is also a lot to learn from myself.  Last night, I went back to the beginning and loved it.

And here are a few more William Blake quotes I found last night as I was verifying the wording of that one of my journal page:

“The difference between a bad artist and a good one is: The bad artist seems to copy a great deal; the good one really does.”

The true method of knowledge is experiment.

~ by Cynthia on January 30, 2009.

One Response to “Obeying my Spirit”

  1. Thanks for dropping by my blog and leaving a comment. It’s so nice to hear from others. Your art is amazing and I especially love this post about art journalling. I find myself comparing my work and copying all the time….. a good reminder to just let me shine through.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

